Government Regulatory and Prudential

ELS Europe is privileged to have provided expert support to the European Commission Directorate General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Unit (DG-FISMA) on the development of the EU Taxonomy as a member of the technical expert group (TEG), working alongside environmental and financial leaders, and entrepreneurs representing numerous European and international business and regulatory organisations.

ELS Europe’s Managing Director was furthermore co-chair of the European Financial Reporting and Advisory Group (EFRAG) project on reporting of sustainability-related risks and opportunities and linkage to the business model. In this role, ELS Europe lead a dynamic task force comprising a broad range of sustainability professionals from financial and non-financial sectors of the economy. 

Our government regulatory and prudential partners and non-government organisations that ELS Europe engaged with in the delivery of these and related projects include:

  • the European Commission’s Directorate General – DG-FISMA, DG-ENV, DG-CLIMA, DG-ENER, DG-GROW, DG-MOVE, Joint Research Centre (JRC), Eurostat
  • the European Environment Agency (EEA), and EU member state environmental agencies
  • EU and National Trade Associations such as Insurance Europe, Business Europe, European Banking Federation
  • European prudential supervisory and regulatory bodies such as European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), European Securities and Market Authority (ESMA), and the European Central Bank (ECB)
  • Multilateral Development Banks including the European Investment Bank (EIB) and European Bank for Reconstruction & Development (EBRD)
  • the European Court of Auditors (ECA)
  • the Organisation for Economic Co-ordination & Development (OECD)
  • Government and non-government organisations such as Climate Positive Europe Alliance (CPEA), the Club of Rome Planetary Emergency Taskforce, the World Wildlife Fund, and Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI)
  • National Central Banks and Treasury Management Authorities